Finding the Right Small Press

Last month, I wrote about the pros and cons of publishing with a small press. If you’ve given the matter some thought and decided that publishing with a small press might be right for you, the next logical question might be how to go about finding a small press that will be interested in publishing your work. Here are a few things that have worked for me:

  • READ small press books and find someone who’s publishing the kind of work you write. To get a taste of what’s out there, visit a site like Small Press Reviews.
  • Volunteer to help out. Since many small presses operate on limited budgets, many are always looking for people to help get the word out about their books.
  • Correspond with small press authors. Talk to them about writing. Ask for advice. Get a dialogue going. Doing so won’t guarantee anything, but it doesn’t hurt to be able to say, “I’m friendly with so-and-so whose books you’ve published and I’ve enjoyed immensely. In fact, he’s helped me out a lot with my novel…” I should note, however, that it’s probably a good idea to get permission from an author before engaging in any name-dropping.
  • And, of course, write an awesome book.
2 Comments

  1. Definitely get the permission of the small press author before dropping his/her name! I can’t tell you how many people have told my publisher “Smoky said I should contact you about my book” when I did not. In fact, I’ve only once or twice suggested an author contact my publisher, and each time, I’ve alerted my publisher to the fact. And hopeful authors, never, ever drop the name of an author without their explicit permission. You’ll ruin your reputation among small presses (who know each other pretty well) before you even get a chance to develop it!

    • Marc Schuster

      I agree.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

